Colorado Auto Insurance Laws
Driving without Colorado auto insurance can be costly, both in terms of money and time. Anyone caught driving without insurance in the state may face:
- Fines of $ 500 to $ 1,000
- Up to 40 hours of community service
- Up to eight months driver’s license suspension
- 4 points to his driver’s record
- 40 $ fee
- The obligation to file an SR-22 certificate for three years
In addition, anyone arrested for the second time faces 10 days to one year in prison.
Colorado Minimum Coverage Requirements
Colorado’s auto insurance laws are clear. At the very least, drivers must have minimum state coverage. This coverage includes:
- $ 25,000 in bodily injury or death of a person
- $ 50,000 in bodily injury or death for everyone involved in an accident
- $ 15,000 in property damage
How To Get Cheap Auto Insurance In Colorado
Once a driver learns, “How much is auto insurance in Colorado?” it is natural to wonder if there are ways to reduce the premium. Fortunately, it is possible. Part is related to driving and credit standing, and the rest is taking advantage of discounts offered by their insurer.
Insurance companies view the past as a possible predictor of future behavior. Before providing a quote, insurers check the applicant’s driving record, looking for a history of tickets or accidents. One of the easiest ways for a driver to keep insurance premiums low is to make sure you are a safe driver. Avoiding tickets and skirmishes lets insurance companies know they are safe drivers and helps reduce the cost of auto insurance.
Drivers are sometimes surprised to learn that Colorado auto insurance companies do a credit check before offering a quote. But studies have shown that drivers with high credit scores tend to make fewer insurance claims. A driver with a high credit score will almost always be offered a cheaper insurance rate than a driver with a bad credit score. For the driver with a low credit score, working to raise that score can save money on insurance and consumer loans.
When a driver is looking for the lowest insurance rate, it is worth checking out the discounts offered by different insurers. While these discounts vary by carrier, there is usually something for everyone. Here are some of the most popular discounts offered by the companies we reviewed:
- Good student discount
- Defensive driver discount
- Full payment remittance
- Discounts outside of school
- Professional discount
- Alumni discount
- Professional organization discount
- Discount on safety function
- Discount based on usage
- Multi-car discount
- Multi-policy discount
- New car discount
Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Colorado
Colorado offers the option to self-insure against accidents and property damage, but only to those who have more than 25 vehicles registered in their name. These drivers can apply for a certificate of self-insurance from the state insurance commissioner. The police station then verifies that the applicant can pay for the minimum required coverage.
Whether a driver is looking for comprehensive coverage or inexpensive liability insurance in Colorado, it’s always worth the effort to shop around. Sometimes the lowest stand-alone rate can be beaten by bundling insurance products with another insurance company.