Skip to main content

Delaware Auto Insurance Laws

Delaware auto insurance laws state that drivers must have at least minimum liability coverage. A driver caught without proof of insurance the first time can be fined $ 50 to $ 200. Fines are increased from $ 100 to $ 500 for the second and subsequent offenses. Repeat offenders can also be jailed for up to six months.

Delaware minimum coverage requirements

Delaware’s minimum auto insurance is designed to protect a driver from financial ruin if he causes an accident. Minimum coverage requirements include:

  • Liability coverage for bodily injury: $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident
  • Liability insurance for property damage: $ 10,000
  • Coverage for bodily injury to uninsured motorists: $ 25,000 per person and $ 50,000 per accident
  • Cover for property damage for uninsured motorists: $ 10,000 per accident
  • Personal Injury Protection Coverage: $ 15,000 per person and $ 30,000 per accident

How to get cheap auto insurance in Delaware

Finding cheap auto insurance is a bit more difficult in Delaware than in most states because of its higher than average rates. Yet it can be done. The companies offering the most competitive rates are usually some of the largest insurers in the country, with years of experience. To reduce premium costs, it pays to shop around, collect quotes, compare levels of coverage, and request applicable discounts.

Discounts

How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Delaware? This is the price initially offered, less any discounts. The number of potential insurance discounts varies by insurance company, but taking the time to consider the options can save money. One way to get cheap auto insurance in Delaware is to take advantage of all the discounts available. Here are some of the most common:

  • Multi-car discount
  • Multi-policy discount
  • Professional organization discount
  • Good student discount
  • Defensive driver discount
  • Full payment remittance
  • Discount on safety function
  • Discount based on usage
  • Discounts outside of school
  • Professional discount
  • Alumni discount
  • New car discount

Auto insurance quotes in Delaware, like in all states, are based in part on a driver’s credit rating. According to the Federal Trade Commission, studies show that drivers with low credit scores tend to make more insurance claims. To compensate for these expected losses, insurers charge these drivers a higher premium.

If a driver’s credit rating is low, taking steps to increase it can reduce what they pay for auto insurance. You’ll increase your chances of getting affordable auto insurance in Delaware by focusing on score-increasing habits like paying bills on time, paying off debt, and incurring new debt only when it’s needed. Building a credit score can take time, but the effort is worth the effort.

Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Delaware

In 2018, Delaware lawmakers passed House Bill 80, a law that restricts how insurance companies write policies. Here are some of the more striking changes:

  • While insurance companies can still use credit scores to determine pricing for new policies, they cannot use credit scores for policy renewals unless the policyholder specifically instructs them to do so.
  • Insurers cannot take into account a driver’s age, race, sex, religion, nationality, marital status, zip code, or lack of credit history. when they set the premiums.
  • Insurance companies cannot increase a driver’s rates because they are 75 or older.
  • Insurance companies cannot increase a driver’s rates because the driver’s spouse has died.

Delaware’s best auto insurance companies are happy to provide potential policyholders with the facts and figures they need to compare insurers. Although some of the highest auto insurance premiums in the country are found in Delaware, there are still companies offering competitive rates. Minimum coverage costs as little as $ 46 per month, so don’t drive unprotected.

Source link