Skip to main content

Texas Auto Insurance Laws

Here are some of the top Texas auto insurance laws drivers should know about.

Texas is a responsible state

States responsible for auto insurance require that the driver responsible for the accident pay medical bills for himself and for the other driver, if necessary. This is different from no-fault states, where both drivers are expected to have Injury Protection (PIP). Everyone uses their own PIP to pay for their medical bills, regardless of who caused the accident.

Consequences of driving without insurance in Texas

The first time someone is caught driving without insurance in Texas, they can expect a fine of between $ 175 and $ 350. Subsequent violations can result in fines of between $ 350 and $ 1,000. Driving without insurance can also result in suspension of the driver’s license and vehicle registration. Some may even have their vehicles impounded.

Texas minimum coverage requirements

The Texas minimum coverage requirements are as follows.

Liability coverage for bodily injury

Texas drivers must have at least:

  • $ 30,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $ 60,000 of liability coverage for bodily injury per accident

Liability coverage for property damage

Drivers in Texas must also purchase property damage liability insurance of at least $ 25,000 to pay for repairs to the vehicle or other personal property they damage in an accident.

How To Get Cheap Auto Insurance In Texas

Try these tips for getting the cheapest auto insurance in Texas.

  • Compare the prices: All insurance companies evaluate different parts of a driver’s claim differently, so getting multiple auto insurance quotes is critical to determining which one will provide the best auto insurance in Texas. Start with some of the companies listed above.
  • Discover the discounts: Auto insurance companies have their own set of discounts to help drivers save money. Some insurance discounts are automatically applied when a driver signs up while others require drivers to sign up. For example, a growing number of insurers are offering discounts to drivers wishing to install a monitoring device in their vehicles to demonstrate their safe driving habits.
  • Increase the deductible: Auto insurance deductibles are your personal expenses in the event of an accident, while premiums are the monthly costs you pay for your insurance. Increasing the deductible often lowers auto insurance premiums in Texas. If a driver saves for his deductible in an emergency fund, it should not affect his financial security in the event of an accident.

Other things to consider when looking for auto insurance in Texas

Keep the following things in mind when shopping for cheap auto insurance in Texas.

Texas has highest number of hail claims of any state in the United States

According to the Insurance Information Institute, nearly 193,000 auto insurance claims in Texas were filed in 2019 due to hail. It is by far the most in the country. Drivers can avoid this problem by parking their vehicle in a garage or under a carport. But this is not always possible.

It is also wise to invest in comprehensive coverage. This covers damage to your vehicle caused by inclement weather, as well as accidents involving animals and more. Lenders may require drivers with a lease or loan on their vehicle to purchase this coverage.

Odessa, Texas is a hotbed of auto theft

Drivers in the Odessa, Texas area can expect to pay a little more for auto insurance than drivers in other parts of the state, as Odessa experiences a high rate of vehicle theft every year. , according to the Insurance Information Institute.

This is yet another reason to consider investing in comprehensive coverage, even if you don’t have to have it. He will pay a driver for his stolen vehicle if he is unable to recover it or if he recovers it and it is damaged. The state’s minimum liability coverage will not protect drivers from this.

Source link

Leave a Reply