Kansas auto insurance laws
All drivers should familiarize themselves with these Kansas auto insurance laws:
Kansas is a no-fault auto insurance state
Kansas is a no-fault auto insurance state. This means that in the event of an accident involving multiple cars resulting in injuries, each driver bills their own insurance company. This is different from at-fault states, where the driver convicted of the accident pays the medical bills of all parties involved.
Consequences of driving without insurance in Kansas
Driving without car insurance in Kansas can result in:
- Fines between $300 and $1,000 for a first offense and between $800 and $2,500 for a repeat offense within three years
- Up to six months imprisonment
- Suspension of driver’s license
- Suspension of vehicle registration
Kansas Minimum Coverage Requirements
Kansas drivers must have at least the following coverage:
Personal injury liability cover
Drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
Property damage civil liability cover
Drivers must also hold at least $25,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists
Drivers require uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage in the same amounts as the bodily injury liability coverage listed above. Uninsured motorist coverage applies if an insured is struck by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage helps the policyholder pay for the rest of the damage if they are hit by a driver without enough insurance to pay for it all.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Kansas drivers must wear Personal Injury Protection (PIP). The minimum amount required by law is:
- $4,500 per person for medical expenses
- $900 per month for one year for disability/loss of income
- $25 per day for home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation costs
How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas
Drivers looking for the cheapest car insurance in Kansas should try the following:
- Compare the prices of several companies: Each insurer assesses the risk differently, which is why they all give different quotes. Drivers should compare the rates of several companies before choosing one.
- Look at all the discounts available: Most insurers automatically apply discounts to an applicant’s premiums, but there are some discounts that drivers must accept. For example, driver monitoring programs generally require the consent of the policyholder. It’s worth considering for those who want to be rewarded for their good driving habits.
- Choose a higher deductible: Deductibles are the reimbursable expenses that the insured pays in the event of an accident. Choosing a higher one generally reduces premiums.
Other Things to Consider When Finding Automobile Insurance in Kansas
Here are a few other things to keep in mind when shopping for car insurance in Kansas:
Minimum state coverage may not be enough
Cheap car insurance can be attractive, but it can also lead to huge financial problems in the event of an accident. If the damage exceeds their policy limits, the driver must pay the rest out of their own pocket. This could easily cost thousands or even tens of thousands of dollars. That’s why it’s often best to buy more than the stated minimum coverage whenever possible.
State minimum coverage does not include any protection for the policyholder’s vehicle
Those who want help paying for repairs to their own vehicle after an accident will need to add Collision and Comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage applies when a driver has an accident with another vehicle. Comprehensive coverage covers damage from animal-vehicle collision, weather, theft, vandalism, etc.