North Dakota Auto Insurance Laws
Here are some North Dakota auto insurance laws that all drivers should be familiar with:
North Dakota is a no-fault auto insurance state
North Dakota is one of the few no-fault auto insurance states in the United States. This means that in the event of an accident involving injury, each person bills their own insurance for their medical expenses, regardless of who is at fault. For serious accidents, it is often still possible to prosecute the driver at fault. This is different from at-fault states where the driver convicted of the accident pays the medical bills for all parties involved.
Consequences of driving without car insurance in North Dakota
Drivers who ignore North Dakota car insurance could face the following consequences:
- Fines of at least $150
- Suspension of license until proof of insurance is presented
- Suspension of vehicle registration for repeat offenders
- Obligation to purchase SR-22 insurance
North Dakota Minimum Coverage Requirements
Here is the minimum North Dakota auto insurance required by law.
Personal injury liability insurance
Drivers must have at least:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance per person
- $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
Property damage liability insurance
Drivers must also have at least $25,000 of property damage liability coverage.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Drivers must also have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in the same amounts as the bodily injury liability insurance described above.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
North Dakota drivers must also carry at least $30,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in North Dakota
Here are some tips drivers can use to get cheap car insurance in North Dakota:
- Compare the prices. Every driver is unique and every insurance company assesses the risk differently, which is why a driver can get very different quotes from different insurers.
- Take advantage of all possible discounts. Many insurers automatically apply discounts to a driver’s premiums, but the driver may need to sign up for them. For example, many companies now offer discounts to drivers who sign up for their monitoring programs, but these require driver consent.
- Choose a higher deductible. Deductibles are the reimbursable expenses that a driver pays in the event of an accident. Choosing a higher deductible reduces premiums.
Other Things to Consider When Finding Car Insurance in North Dakota
Here are a few other things North Dakota drivers should be aware of when shopping for car insurance.
Minimum State Coverage Isn’t Always Enough
Minimum state coverage is necessary to drive legally on the roads, but it is not always sufficient in the event of a serious accident. An insurance company will pay up to the policy limit, but if the damage costs more, the driver will have to pay the rest out of pocket. This could easily add up to several thousand dollars. That’s why it’s generally best to buy more coverage whenever possible.
Minimum state coverage does not protect the insured’s vehicle
Drivers looking for coverage for their own vehicle should add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies. Collision insurance pays for damage due to an accident with another vehicle or an accident involving a single car. Comprehensive coverage pays for damage from weather, theft, vandalism, or animal-vehicle collisions.