Rhode Island Auto Insurance Laws
Rhode Island’s insurance laws are clear. If you are caught driving without auto insurance in Rhode Island, you could face serious consequences. For example, you will be fined $100 to $500 for your first offence. For two or more offences, the minimum charge is $500. You will also lose your driving privileges. You may also have to pay a fee when you want to have your license reinstated.
Rhode Island Minimum Coverage Requirements
Here’s an overview of what Rhode Island’s minimum auto insurance coverage must include:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident
How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Rhode Island
Buying car insurance starts with collecting car insurance quotes in Rhode Island. This also involves investigating any potential discounts.
The number of potential insurance discounts varies by insurer. Taking the time to look through the options can end up saving you money. Here are some of the discount options you are likely to come across:
- Discount based on usage
- Multi-car discount
- Good student discount
- Discount on Security Features
- Multi-policy discount
- Discount on new cars
- Defensive driver discount
- Discount on full payment
- Discounts outside of school
- Professional Discount
- Graduate discount
- Discount Professional Organization
Insurance companies also base your quote, in part, on your credit score. If a low credit score is getting in the way of the rates you want, taking steps to raise your score can save you money.
Other Things to Consider When Finding Automobile Insurance in Rhode Island
Buying cheap liability insurance in Rhode Island is better than driving without coverage. Still, it may not cost as much as you think to add another level of protection. If you have a good driving record, it is possible to purchase a comprehensive policy for less than $116 per month. Yes, it’s an additional expense, but a comprehensive policy covers things like:
- Uninsured motorist: Protects you against loss if you are involved in an accident and the other driver is at fault.
- Underinsured motorist: If you are involved in an accident and the other driver is at fault, the underinsured motorist helps cover your medical costs if the other driver does not have sufficient liability insurance.
- Collision: Covers the cost of repairing (or replacing) your car if it is damaged.
- Medical payments: Help pay for medical or funeral expenses if you or someone in your vehicle is injured in an accident.
- A good Rhode Island auto insurance policy can also replace or repair your car if it’s damaged or stolen.
Paying for auto insurance may not be fun, but it’s an important way to protect your financial well-being. Checking Rhode Island auto insurance quotes is the first step to discovering the best Rhode Island auto insurance.