Skip to main content

Utah Auto Insurance Laws

Here are some Utah auto insurance laws that all drivers should know:

Utah is a no-fault state

Utah is a no-fault auto insurance state. This means that in the event of an accident, both drivers generally bill their own insurance company for the associated medical costs, regardless of the cause of the accident. Drivers who live in no-fault states must purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to help cover these costs.

Consequences of driving without car insurance in Utah

Drivers who ignore Utah’s mandatory minimum auto insurance could face the following penalties:

  • Fines of up to $400 for a first offense and up to $1,000 for subsequent offenses within three years
  • Suspension of vehicle registration
  • Suspension of driver’s license

Utah Minimum Coverage Requirements

All Utah drivers must have at least the following auto insurance coverage:

Personal injury liability cover

Drivers must have at least:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $65,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident

Property damage civil liability cover

Additionally, drivers must have at least $15,000 of liability coverage for property damage. This pays for any property that the policyholder damages in an accident.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

Utah drivers also need at least $3,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to help pay for medical costs if they are injured in an accident.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Utah

Drivers looking for the cheapest auto insurance in Utah should try the following:

  • Compare the prices: Car insurance companies have their own formulas for determining rates. The only way to know how much they will charge a specific driver is to compare quotes.
  • Benefit from maximum reductions: Most insurers automatically apply car insurance discounts, but there may be some that drivers need to opt into. For example, some companies give discounts to drivers who enroll in a driver monitoring program.
  • Choose a higher deductible: Increasing auto insurance deductibles lowers monthly premium costs.

Other Things to Consider When Finding Car Insurance in Utah

Here are a few other things drivers should keep in mind when shopping for car insurance in Utah:

Utah has one of the lowest rates of uninsured drivers in the nation

Only about 6.5% of Utah drivers are uninsured, according to the Insurance Information Institute. This is the ninth lowest rate in the country. But this does not mean that an accident with an uninsured driver is impossible. Those who don’t want to pay out of pocket in this scenario should consider adding coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists to their policy.

Uninsured motorist coverage pays for damages if the policyholder is hit by an uninsured driver. Underinsured motorist coverage kicks in if the at-fault driver’s insurance isn’t enough to cover all the damage.

Minimum state coverage is often not enough

As in most states, Utah’s minimum coverage focuses primarily on protecting other drivers from the insured. It offers no protection for the policyholder’s vehicle if it causes an accident or has an accident involving a single car. Drivers will need collision and comprehensive coverage if they don’t want to pay for these repairs themselves.

Collision insurance pays for vehicle repairs needed due to a single-car accident or an accident where the policyholder was at fault. Comprehensive coverage covers damage from weather, theft, vandalism and animal-vehicle collisions.

Source link