Skip to main content
[ad_1]

Vermont Auto Insurance Laws

Here are some Vermont auto insurance laws that all drivers should know.

Vermont is a responsible state for auto insurance

Vermont is a responsible state for auto insurance. This means that in the event of an accident, the convicted driver must pay medical costs for all parties involved. This is different from no-fault states where each driver bills their own insurance for medical expenses in most cases.

Consequences of driving without insurance in Vermont

Drivers who ignore the state’s mandatory minimum coverage could face the following consequences:

  • Fines
  • The evaluation of points in relation to driving privileges
  • The requirement to purchase financial liability insurance from the State of Vermont

Vermont Minimum Coverage Requirements

All Vermont drivers must have at least the following auto insurance coverage:

Personal injury liability cover

Drivers must have at least:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident

Property damage civil liability cover

Additionally, drivers must hold at least $10,000 of property damage liability coverage.

How to Get Cheap Car Insurance in Vermont

Drivers looking for the cheapest car insurance in Vermont should try the following:

  • Compare the prices: Compare quotes from multiple companies before purchasing a policy to see which offers the most affordable rate. Also weigh its level of coverage and the quality of its customer service.
  • Consider usage-based auto insurance: Usage-based auto insurance programs monitor a driver through a mobile app or device installed in the vehicle. Many insurers offer this program as an option and it can help cautious, infrequent drivers save on their rates.
  • Increase the policy deductible: Choosing a higher deductible can reduce the size of monthly premiums.

Other Things to Consider When Finding Car Insurance in Vermont

Here are a few other things Vermont drivers should keep in mind when shopping for auto insurance.

Minimum State Coverage Isn’t Always Enough

State minimum coverage helps drivers avoid penalties for driving without insurance. But that may not be enough to cover all the damage from a serious accident. Once the insurer has paid up to the policy limit, it is off the hook and the driver must pay the rest of the balance out of their own pocket. Those who don’t want to take that chance should purchase higher coverage limits if they are able to.

State minimum coverage does not protect driver’s vehicle

State law dictates that all drivers have liability insurance, which pays for other people’s medical bills and damaged property if the policyholder causes an accident. But it does not provide coverage for the driver’s own vehicle. For this, drivers need collision and comprehensive coverage.

Collision insurance pays to repair the vehicle following an at-fault accident or a single-vehicle accident. Comprehensive coverage covers repairs from animal-vehicle collisions, storm damage, theft and vandalism.

[ad_2]Source link