Editorial Note: We earn a commission on partner links on Forbes Advisor. Commissions do not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.
Finding Cheap Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
If you are in the New Hampshire auto insurance market, you are probably wondering who has the best rates. The best way to do this is to shop around and compare the rates of several insurers. We’ve evaluated 13 auto insurance companies to help you know where to start.
Related: Best Car Insurance Companies
Featured Auto Insurance Partners
Auto insurance rates
Auto insurance rates
Cheap New Hampshire Auto Insurance For Good Drivers
Drivers with stellar driving records who are members of the military and veterans can find great rates at USAA. If you are not eligible for USAA auto insurance, check quotes from Concord Group, Geico, and Nationwide.
Cheap car insurance in New Hampshire for speeding drivers
If you have a speeding ticket on your file, consult the quotes from Concord Group and Geico auto insurance. Eligible military and veterans might do well by getting rates from the USAA.
New Hampshire Cheap Auto Insurance For Drivers With Injury Crash
If you cause a car accident that injures someone else, you can usually expect an increase of several hundred dollars in auto insurance in New Hampshire. Get quotes from Concord Group, State Farm auto insurance, and more. USAA is a good option for the military and veterans.
Cheap New Hampshire Auto Insurance For Drivers With A DUI
Drivers with a DUI conviction can expect to pay significantly more than those with a clean criminal record. But that doesn’t mean you can’t research the best rates for your situation. See quotes from Progressive auto Insurance, Concord Group and State Farm. If you are in the military, you might find the best rates at USAA.
Cheap New Hampshire Auto Insurance For Drivers Without Insurance
While auto insurance is not mandatory for everyone in New Hampshire, some insurers consider an interruption in auto insurance history to be a higher risk, which can result in higher rates when purchasing a policy. . You may want to get quotes from Concord Group, Geico, and State Farm. Military personnel and veterans should also obtain a quote from the USAA.
The cheapest vehicles for insurance in New Hampshire
In New Hampshire, the Chevrolet Colorado, Ford Ranger Lariat, and GMC Sierra 1500 are among the cheapest vehicles for insurance, based on average prices of the top 50 selling 2021 models. The 20 cheapest are below.
The vehicles with the most expensive New Hampshire auto insurance among popular models are the Tesla Model S Performance ($ 3,571 per year) and the Lexus ES 300H ($ 2,109 per year).
Related: The most expensive and cheapest cars to insure nationwide
Minimum car insurance required for New Hampshire
New Hampshire law generally doesn’t require car owners to carry auto insurance, but that doesn’t mean drivers are off the hook. You must be able to prove that you have sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements.
In other words, you have to be able to pay for any injuries and damages you might cause. If you cannot demonstrate “financial responsibility,” you may have your driving privileges suspended.
The most common way to prove financial responsibility is to purchase automobile liability insurance. This is an essential type of auto insurance that covers injuries and damage you cause to others. Liability insurance also pays for your legal defense if someone sues you because of a car accident.
If you purchase auto liability insurance in New Hampshire, you must purchase at least:
- $ 25,000 for bodily injury
- $ 50,000 for bodily injuries to more than one person in a single accident
- $ 25,000 for property damage in an accident
This is often written as 25/50/25.
We recommend liability insurance amounts greater than the minimum. Think about this: If you cause a car accident that causes multiple injuries to others, or significant property damage, you could quickly run out of insurance and you could be sued for the rest. A good rule of thumb is to take out sufficient liability insurance to cover any assets that you could potentially lose in a lawsuit.
If you are having certain problems on the road, you may need to purchase auto insurance in New Hampshire. These problems include:
- You have been convicted of impaired driving (DWI) and must now file proof of insurance for a minimum of three years.
- You are in the process of being decertified as a repeat offender, but you must submit proof of insurance before you can get your license back.
- You must attend an administrative hearing for certain offenses, such as demerit points, and purchase insurance as a condition of keeping or retrieving your license.
- You have been convicted of an uninsured accident and must now file proof of insurance.
Medical payments (MedPay). This type of insurance pays for medical expenses if you are injured in a car accident, regardless of who caused the accident. According to New Hampshire law, if you purchase auto insurance for a personal vehicle, you must also purchase MedPay coverage of at least $ 1,000.
What else should I have?
Coverage for uninsured / underinsured motorists. These types of coverage pay for medical bills when you are hit by someone who does not have liability insurance or who does not have enough liability insurance.
New Hampshire auto insurance companies are required to provide you with both coverage for uninsured motorists (UM) and coverage for underinsured motorists (UIM). You can decline this coverage in writing for the umbrella and excess policies. But these are good types of coverage to have.
Collision and full coverage. Together, these types of insurance cover a wide range of issues including auto accidents, auto theft, vandalism, riots, collisions with animals, falling objects, flooding, fires and hail.
If you have a leasing or car loan, your leasing company or lender will likely require you to purchase collision insurance and comprehensive coverage.
Summary: Auto Insurance Required for New Hampshire
Can I show my insurance ID card from my phone?
New Hampshire allows you to use your phone to show an auto insurance ID card. If you are arrested, you do not have to hope to find your insurance card. Many auto insurers have mobile apps that include convenient access to insurance credentials.
Factors Allowed In New Hampshire Auto Insurance Rates
In addition to your driving record, previous claims, and vehicle model, New Hampshire auto insurance companies may use these factors in pricing.
How many uninsured drivers are there in New Hampshire?
According to the Insurance Research Council, about 6% of New Hampshire drivers do not have auto insurance. That’s why it’s good to have your own insurance to cover the issues they cause, including MedPay, collision damage waiver, and / or uninsured motorist coverage.
Penalties for driving without automobile insurance
Since New Hampshire does not have a mandatory insurance law, you will not be penalized for driving without auto insurance unless the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles requires you to carry SR- insurance. 22. Under an SR-22, your insurance company provides a form to the state indicating that you have auto insurance.
If you are subject to such a requirement and are caught driving without insurance, your license and registration will be revoked until the SR-22 requirement is met.
When can a vehicle be totaled?
If your vehicle is severely damaged by a problem such as an accident or flood, auto insurance companies in New Hampshire may report the car as a total loss when the cost of the repair exceeds 75% of the vehicle’s retail value or the vehicle is damaged. insurance company decides that the car is “” physically or economically impossible to repair “for a claim settlement.
Resolve insurance issues
The New Hampshire Insurance Department is responsible for regulating insurance companies and handling consumer complaints. If you have a problem with an auto insurance company, you can file a complaint online.
To find the cheapest auto insurance companies in New Hampshire, we used rates from Quadrant Information Services, a provider of insurance data and analytics. Rates are based on a driver with a clean criminal record insuring a Toyota RAV4 with $ 100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $ 300,000 per accident and $ 100,000 of property damage liability, coverage for uninsured motorist and any other coverage required in the state. The rate also includes collisions and comprehensive risks with a deductible of $ 500.
The companies assessed for New Hampshire were Allstate, Amica Mutual, Concord Group, Geico, Hanover, MetLife, MMG Insurance, Nationwide, Progressive, Safety Group, State Farm, USAA and Vermont Mutual.