Skip to main content

Editorial Note: We earn a commission on partner links on Forbes Advisor. Commissions do not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

Finding Cheap Auto Insurance in Utah

Utah’s no-fault auto insurance laws can seem complex, but finding a good price for an auto insurance policy shouldn’t take a lot of work. That’s why we’ve evaluated auto insurance companies in Utah to help you find some of the best rates in the state.

Related: Best Car Insurance Companies

Cheap auto insurance in Utah for good drivers

Utah drivers who avoid traffic violations and at-fault crashes can find great rates, but still need to do a little comparison. If you have a good driving record, get a quote from Geico Auto Insurance and Auto-Owners, which have the best rates among the companies we surveyed. Whether you are a military or a veteran, USAA auto insurance offers competitive prices.

Cheap car insurance in Utah for speeding drivers

A speeding ticket in Utah could cost you almost $ 200 more per year for auto insurance. If you have a speeding ticket on your record, check the quotes from Geico and the car owners. Military personnel and veterans should also obtain a quote from the USAA.

Cheap Utah Auto Insurance For Drivers Who Have Caused In An Injury Crash

If you cause an accident and someone else is injured, you can expect a significant increase in your car insurance rates in Utah. But that doesn’t mean you can’t look for better prices. If you’ve caused an accident, get a quote from Geico and State Farm. The military and veterans should also check USAA.

Cheap Utah Auto Insurance For Drivers With A DUI

A DUI conviction will result in an increase in auto insurance. If you have a DUI on file, try quotes from Geico, Progressive car Insurance, and State Farm. Military personnel and veterans should also obtain a quote from the USAA.

Cheap Utah Auto Insurance For Drivers With Low Credit

Bad credit can be a very costly problem for Utah drivers. We have seen an average increase of over $ 1,500 per year just for bad credit. This is why it is essential to compare auto insurance quotes from several insurers. We found that Geico had the lowest rates in Utah among the companies we surveyed.

Cheap Utah Auto Insurance For Drivers Taken Without Insurance

If you’re caught driving without auto insurance, there’s a good chance you’ll pay more when you buy your next policy. This is because many insurers consider an interruption in auto insurance history to be a higher risk. If you need auto insurance in Utah, Geico might be your best bet, based on our analysis. Military and veterans alike can find competitive prices at USAA.

Cheapest Vehicles For Insurance In Utah

In Utah, the Jeep Wrangler JL Sport, Honda CR-V LX, and Ford Escape S are among the cheapest insurance options, based on average prices of the top 50 selling 2021 models. The 20 cheapest are below.

The most expensive vehicles for insurance in Utah among popular cars are the Tesla Model S Performance ($ 3,331 per year) and the Lexus ES 300H ($ 2,024 per year).

Related: The most expensive and cheapest cars to insure nationwide

Minimum auto insurance required in Utah

Utah requires car owners to carry auto liability insurance and personal injury protection.

Liability insurance must have coverage of at least:

  • $ 25,000 for bodily injury to a person.
  • $ 65,000 for bodily injuries to more than one person in a single accident.
  • $ 15,000 for property damage in an accident.

If you have savings and other assets to protect in a lawsuit, you’ll want more than Utah’s minimum auto insurance. It won’t be enough if you are sued for a serious accident, and once your insurance runs out, you are responsible for the rest.

Utah drivers must also have personal injury protection (PIP insurance). PIP pays a variety of bills regardless of who caused the accident. PIP is needed as part of Utah’s no-fault insurance system, where you make most injury claims on your own insurance rather than suing someone else.

Drivers must have at least $ 3,000 per person in PIP insurance to cover these medical costs:

  • Medical services
  • Operation
  • X-rays
  • Dentistry
  • Rehabilitation including prosthetic devices
  • Ambulance, hospital and nursing services

In addition, Utah PIP insurance must cover:

  • $ 250 or 85% of your lost wages, whichever is less (you can forgo this if you or your spouse have no income)
  • Up to $ 20 per day to pay for services you can no longer do, such as transportation or cleaning.
  • Up to $ 1,500 per person for funeral expenses
  • $ 3,000 to the heirs of a person who died in an accident

If you use all of your PIP benefits, or if you have a “serious injury,” you can make a claim against the other driver’s liability insurance. That’s why you need your own liability insurance, even in a no-fault insurance state like Utah.

Utah defines “serious injury” as death, dismemberment, permanent disability, permanent impairment, or permanent disfigurement. If this happens, you can sue the other driver.

What else should I have?

Collision and accident insurance: While liability and PIP insurance seems to cover a lot of issues, it doesn’t cover damage to your own car. If someone else collides with your vehicle, you can sue them or use collision insurance.

Collision insurance is also useful for your own accidents, such as backing up into a pole or crashing into a guardrail.

There are many other types of auto damage that only collisions and comprehensive coverage would cover: damage from flood, hail, fire, falling objects, vandalism, and a deer or riot accident. Comprehensive insurance also covers car theft.

Collision and full coverage are generally required if you have an auto loan or lease.

Coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists. The problem with uninsured drivers is that they can leave a trail of unpaid accident bills in their path. They have no insurance to pay for the injuries or damage they cause, forcing other drivers to purchase additional insurance. And this additional insurance is the coverage of uninsured and underinsured motorists (UM and UIM).

In Utah, insurance companies must offer you the UM and UIM, but you can decline them in writing. UM and UIM in Utah cover your injuries.

A related coverage is property damage to uninsured motorists (UMPD). This pays your bills for damage from an uninsured motorist, whether it crashed into your car or property like a fence. If you don’t have collision coverage, you must purchase UMPD in Utah.

Summary: Auto Insurance Required in Utah

Can I show my insurance ID card from my phone?

You can use your phone to show a Utah auto insurance ID card. Check if your auto insurance company has a mobile app that gives you easy access to an electronic ID card.

Factors Allowed In Utah Auto Insurance Rates

Auto insurance companies will often use your driving record, past claims, vehicle model, and more when setting a rate. In Utah, insurers can also use these factors.

How many uninsured drivers are there in Utah?

About 7% of Utah drivers do not have insurance, according to the Insurance Research Council.

Penalties for driving without automobile insurance

If you are caught driving without insurance in Utah, you can be fined at least $ 400 for a first offense.

When can a vehicle be totaled?

In Utah, an insurance company can decide whether a car is “totaled” after it has been severely damaged. This is based on the cost of the repairs versus the value of the vehicle.

Resolve insurance issues

The Utah Department of Insurance is responsible for overseeing the state’s insurance companies. If you have an unresolved problem, service personnel may be able to help you, or you can file a complaint.

Methodology

To find the cheapest auto insurance companies in Utah, we used rates from Quadrant Information Services, a provider of insurance data and analytics. Rates are based on a female driver with a clean criminal record insuring a Toyota RAV4 with $ 100,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per person, $ 300,000 per accident and $ 100,000 in property damage liability, coverage for uninsured motorist and any other coverage required in the state. The rate also includes collisions and multi-perils with a deductible of $ 500.

Companies assessed for Utah were Allstate, American Family, Auto-Owners, Farm Bureau Mutual, Farmers, Geico, Progressive, State Farm, and USAA.

Source link